Top 5 Reasons

boygirlMy whole life I have dreamed of having a little girl, my mini-me.  A girl that I could relate to, and help her on bad hair days, and receive a little payback from, for mouthing off at my mom when I was 13.  However, now that I am actually pregnant with, what feels like, a big Plagemann BOY, all I really want is a cute, cuddly, mini-Geoff.

So, now that I am thoroughly confused as to which would be the best scenario,  I thought I could share 5 of the greatest reasons to wish for each sex:

______

Girl Reason #1: French Braids – I spent hours of my childhood teaching myself how to french braid, french twist, fish bone braid, and more on a lifesize plastic barbie head with ‘real’ hair.  Why would anyone want to waste those skills?

Girl Reason #2: Gifts made EASY – From Polly Pocket, to Glitter, to Pierced Ears, to Snickers Ice Cream bars…  I know what girls like.  I know what they want in their stockings, in their birthday presents, and on days that their boyfriend writes them a nasty note to say he is not going to make it to that oh so important dance.

Girl Reason #3: Big Sisters Rule – Being a big sister myself, I know that it feels awesome to have one-up on your baby brother.  I ENJOYED making him eat soggy bread.  I definitely ENJOYED having a built in waiter to bring me chips and chocolate milk any time day or night. And yes, I ENJOYED making him preform for my girl friends when we got bored at a sleepover.  And to this day, I ENJOY knowing that, although baby brother’s have no clue, big sisters get the final one-up by secretly learning everything they know from their baby brothers.

Girl Reason #4: Sunrise at the Beach – One of my greatest memories with my mom is a sunrise walk on the beach when we saw a double rainbow and got our mini-van stuck in the sand.  ***I do not believe that boys enjoy sunrise, the beach, or getting stuck, even 1/2 as much as girls do…

Girl Reason #5: The Little Mermaid – “Look at this stuff, isn’t it neat, wouldn’t you think my collection’s complete?  Wouldn’t you think I’m the girl, the girl who has, everything? ENOUGH SAID.

______

Boy Reason #1: Big Brothers Are SO Cool – I ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS wished I had a big brother. a) to threaten those boys who broke up with me.  and b) to scare those girls who called me names.  Big Brother’s are intimidating and awesome, even if deep down they turn out to be just another Perry-Plagemann nerd.

Boy Reason #2: Grass Mowed – Built in grass mower, hedge trimmer, car washer, luggage carrier, etc. etc. etc.

Boy Reason #3: Football – Geoffrey is the best role model I know.  I am positive that he would teach our son to: be a perfect gentleman (most days), love his Momma with his whole heart, and be an All-Star Football player.  Heck, with our families’ history of height and stature, he might even make it to some sort of Hall-Of-Fame…unless he takes after me.

Boy Reason #4: The “Talk” – All Geoffrey.

Boy Reason #5:  Momma’s Boy – Girls love on Daddy, and boys love on Momma – even through those tough teen years when they don’t like ANYBODY.  And as much as I love little girls, the fact that she will hate me for at least 2.5 years of her life is beyond devastating.  I would much rather Geoff be blamed for punishments and tough love decisions, that will be made together, but will ultimately appear to be coming from one of us…  Sorry hubs.

______

Reasons #1-101 that IT DOES NOT MATTER – Tree House Stories, Road Trips, Tiny Shoes, Christmas Mornings, Grandparent Visits, Teddy Bears, Group Hugs, Family Game Nights, School Plays, Drying Tears, Bedtime Stories, Mac n’ Cheese, Cousins, Harry Potter (they WILL love it), Halloween, Sleepovers, Hide n’ Seek, Camp Cowen, Sharing ‘Rocky Top’, Tiny Cheeseheads, Teaching Life Lessons, and…

…ALREADY loving someone more that I could have EVER imagined.

Leave a Reply

